Martin Essigmann Outstanding Teaching Award

The Award recognizes and rewards outstanding College of Engineering educators for excellence in teaching and for contributions to the art of teaching. This teaching award is established to confer honor upon individuals whose inspiration and contributions to student learning are truly significant.


  • All full-time faculty in the College of Engineering are eligible.
  • Past recipients are not eligible for a period of five years after receiving the award.


All candidates must have:

  • demonstrated success as a teacher by combining competence in subject matter with an ability to inspire students to higher levels of scholarship;
  • improved the tools of and/or conditions for teaching (e.g., including the revising or writing of new textbooks, and the development of courses, curricula and/or laboratory or other teaching equipment); and
  • consistently demonstrated teaching effectiveness in a manner that substantially exceeds the normal expectation for a faculty member.


A committee will be appointed by the Dean of Engineering to select award recipients.

Nomination Process

Nominations may be initiated by Engineering students, faculty, department chairs or directors. Once the nomination process has concluded, the respective department chair for each faculty nominee or manager for each staff nominee will be contacted to complete a Recommendation Form before all materials are sent to the appropriate Awards Committee for evaluation.

The nomination packet should consist of ONE pdf file submitted through the Faculty Nomination Form (multiple submissions for the same nomination will not be accepted) containing the following:

  • one letter of nomination including the names of the nominator(s) and the nominee which should include the rationale for the nomination and pertinent accomplishments; the letter will be preferably one page and a maximum of two pages in length;
  • an updated CV of the nominee;
  • a maximum of three letters of support from current or former students and/or Engineering colleagues.
  • Additional required information
    • number of years of full-time NUCOE faculty service that the nominee has
    • list any graduate and undergraduate students this nominee has supervised in the past three years
    • list of courses the nominee has developed or revised
    • list any books the nominee has written
    • list laboratory or teaching materials the nominee has created
    • list other instructional contributions the nominee has provided
    • A summary of the courses that the nominee taught for the past THREE years using the following headings PLUS attach copies of all TRACE evaluations (with student comments).
      •           Course Name                      TRACE Overall     TRACE Overall Instructor
        Year     & Number     Enrollment    Course Rating        Teaching Effectiveness   .

If you have any questions, please email

Past Recipients

2023Iman SalamaECE
2022Mona MinkaraBioE
2022Michael JaeggliBioE
2022Josep JornetECE
2021Safa JamaliMIE
2021Yanzhi WangECE
2020Stratis IoannidisECE
2020Courtney PflugerChE
2019Sagar KamarthiMIE
2018Carolyn Lee-ParsonsChE
2017Yusuf OzbekMS/GSE
2016Annalisa Onnis-HaydenCEE
2015Marvin OnabajoECE
2014Daniel DulaskiCEE
2013Nader JaliliMIE
2013Carolyn Lee-ParsonsChE
2012Andrew GouldstoneMIE
2012Beverly JaegerMIE
2012Hossein NoorianMIE
2011Charles DiMarzioECE
2011Rifat SipahiMIE
2009Stefano BasagniECE
2009Albert Sacco, Jr.ChE
2009Behrooz SatvatGraduate Coop
2008James BenneyanMIE
2008Bridget SmyserMIE
2008Waleed MeleisECE
2007Daniel BurkeyChE
2007Philip E. SerafimECE
2006Bradley LehmanECE
2006John RossettosMIE
2006Katherine ZiemerChE
2005Hanoch Lev-AriECE
2005Yiannis LevendisCEE
2005Rajiv ShridharMSIS
2004Dionisio BernalCEE
2004Francis DiBellaSET
2003Joseph HealeyMSIS
2003Waleed MeleisECE
2003Sinan MuftuMIME
2002Elliot ChikofskyMIME
2002Bahram ShafaiECE
2001Jack HananiaECE
2001Behrooz SatvatChE
2000Susan FreemanMIME
2000David NavickCEE
1999Gregory J. KowalskiMIME
1999Philip E. SerafimECE
1999Joel R. WeinsteinSET
1998Jennifer BlackMIME
1998Richard MurphyMIME
1998Richard StewartChE
1997Jeffrey HopwoodECE
1997Thomas SheahanCEE
1997Jerome TapperSET