Excellence in Mentoring Award

This award is established to confer honor upon individuals whose inspiration and contributions to faculty, staff, or student development are truly significant. This award is also established to honor any individual who has mentored students or colleagues or has advised student clubs/organizations.


  • All faculty and staff in the College of Engineering are eligible.
  • Past recipients are not eligible for a period of five years after receiving the award.


A committee will be appointed by the Dean of Engineering to select award recipients.

Nomination Process

Nominations may be initiated by College of Engineering staff, students, faculty, and administrators. Each nomination must, however, be submitted to the chair or director of the candidate’s academic unit for review and approval prior to submission to the Dean’s Office. Complete nominations are required NO LATER THAN April 16, 2021.

The nomination packet should consist of ONE pdf file emailed to fac-staff-awards@coe.neu.edu (separate emails will not be accepted) containing the following:

  • one letter of nomination including the names of the nominator(s) and the nominee which should include the rationale for the nomination and pertinent accomplishments; the letter will be preferably one page and a maximum of two pages in length;
  • a letter of support from the COE department chair or director, if not included among the nominators above;
  • a maximum of three letters of support from current or former students and/or Engineering colleagues.

If you have any questions, please email fac-staff-awards@coe.neu.edu.

Past Recipients

2021Manny MelachrinoudisMIE
2021Jasmine SunMGEN Co-op
2021Mofei XuARC
2020Laura MeyerMGEN Co-op
2020Marilyn MinusMIE
2020Sandra ShefelbineMIE
2019Cheryl ArrudaMIE Co-op
2019Deniz ErdogmusECE
2018Ozlem ErgunMIE
2018Nikolai SlavovBioE
2017April GuCEE
2016Dana BrooksECE
2016Andrew GouldstoneMIE
2015Jackie IsaacsMIE
2014Allen SoysterMIE
2013Richard HarrisStudent Services
2013Hameed MetghalchiMIE
2012Anand AsthagiriChE
2012Rachelle ReisburgStudent Services
2007David KaeliECE
2006Beverly JaegerMIE
2006Albert Sacco, Jr.ChE