Faculty Research Team Award

The Award recognizes a team of College of Engineering faculty for their recent extraordinary efforts to collaborate on highly impactful and innovative team research that strongly support our College’s research mission. Emphasis will be given to a newly developed research initiative, while the sustaining and/or enhancement of an existing, strong research collaboration will be considered as well. The COE team of nominees will have demonstrated the interactions among a group of faculty, which may include other researchers across the University and/or with other institutions to develop or sustain a significant research initiative that contributes to establishing the College as a prestigious research enterprise.

This award is established to confer honor upon individuals with truly significant inspiration, dedication, and contributions to their establishment of a research initiative that enhances the reputation of the College in a timely or cutting edge research area.


  • All faculty in the College of Engineering are eligible.
  • The award is presented to a group of faculty members who collaborated on a project.
  • Past recipients are not eligible for a period of five years after receiving the award.


All candidate groups must have:

  • demonstrated success in either a new research collaboration or sustained, existing collaboration that has resulted in a significant funded research project or program;
  • demonstrated that the research project or program is impactful to both the College’s reputation and its overall record of research funding;
  • demonstrated that the resulting initiative or ongoing project could only have been made possible through collaborative efforts, particularly across disciplines.


A committee will be appointed by the Dean of Engineering to select award recipients.

Nomination Process

Nominations may be initiated by College of Engineering faculty and/or department chairs. Once the nomination process has concluded, the respective department chair for each faculty nominee or manager for each staff nominee will be contacted to complete a Recommendation Form before all materials are sent to the appropriate Awards Committee for evaluation.

The nomination packet should consist of ONE pdf file submitted through the Faculty Nomination Form (multiple submissions for the same nomination will not be accepted) containing the following:

  • one letter of nomination including the names of the nominator(s) and the nominee which should include the rationale for the nomination and pertinent accomplishments; the letter will be preferably one page and a maximum of two pages in length;
  • updated CVs of the nominees.

If you have any questions, please email fac-staff-awards@coe.neu.edu.

Past Recipients

2024Jacqueline IsaacsMIE
2024Xiaoning JinMIE
2024Xuemin JinMIE
2024Sagar KamarthiMIE
2024Emanuel MelachrinoudisMIE
2024Mohsen MoghaddamMIE
2024Peter O’ReillyMGEN
2024Taskin PadirECE
2024Sri RadhakrishnanMIE
2023Parisa AndalibECE
2023Ogheneynume FitchorovaKRI
2023Vincent HarrisECE
2022Teiichi AndoMIE – Cold Spray Research Group
2022Andrew GouldstoneMIE – Cold Spray Research Group
2022Xiaoning JinMIE – Cold Spray Research Group
2022Sinan MüftüMIE – Cold Spray Research Group
2022Ozan OzdemirMIE – Cold Spray Research Group
2022Taskin PadirECE – Cold Spray Research Group
2022Mohammad TaslimMIE – Cold Spray Research Group
2022Moneesh UpmanyuMIE – Cold Spray Research Group
2021Pau ClosasECE
2021Deniz ErdogmusECE
2021Ed BeighleyCEE
2021Tales ImbiribaECE
2020John BaslCSSH PHIL
2020Kemi JonaChancellor’s Office
2020Kristian KloecklCAMD ARTG ARCH
2020Alicia ModestinoCSSH ECON SPPUA
2020Taskin PadirECE
2019Chiara BelliniBioE
2019Jessica OakesBioE
2018Ali AburECE
2018Octavia CampsECE
2018Jacqueline GriffinMIE
2018Jerome HajjarCEE
2018Mario SznaierECE
2017Stefano BasagniECE
2017Kaushik ChowdhuryECE
2017Tommaso MelodiaECE
2017Edmund YehECE