Søren Buus Outstanding Research Award

This Award recognizes and rewards an outstanding junior and senior College of Engineering researcher for accomplishments in advancing the frontiers of knowledge. These research awards are established to confer honor upon individuals, who, by their contributions to their research discipline, have brought recognition to themselves, the College and Northeastern University. The awardees illustrate the important role that research plays in a comprehensive program of engineering education.


  • All full-time faculty and research staff in the College of Engineering are eligible.
  • Past recipients are not eligible for a period of five years after receiving the award.


All candidates must have:

  • Demonstrated an ability to conduct original research at Northeastern;
  • Developed innovative theories and/or laboratory techniques and instrumentation;
  • Received acceptance of research results by colleagues and/or industry through citations or applications;
  • Demonstrated evidence of scholarly contributions to the literature; and
  • Demonstrated research effectiveness in a manner that substantially exceeds the normal expectation for a faculty member.


A committee will be appointed by the Dean of Engineering to select award recipients.

Nomination Process

Nominations may be initiated by College of Engineering students, faculty, research staff, department chairs. Each nominator, however, may nominate only one junior and/or one senior employee for this award each year. Once the nomination process has concluded, the respective department chair for each faculty nominee or manager for each staff nominee will be contacted to complete a Recommendation Form before all materials are sent to the appropriate Awards Committee for evaluation.

The nomination packet should consist of ONE pdf file submitted through the Faculty Nomination Form or the Staff Nomination Form (multiple submissions for the same nomination will not be accepted) containing the following:

  • one letter of nomination including the names of the nominator(s) and the nominee which should include the rationale for the nomination and pertinent accomplishments and a summary of the nominee’s research conducted at Northeastern; the letter will be preferably one page and a maximum of two pages in length;
  • an updated CV of the nominee.

If you have any questions, please email fac-staff-awards@coe.neu.edu.

Past Recipients

2023Joshua GallawayChE
2023Josep JornetECE
2022Ambika BajpayeeBioE
2022Qin Jim ChenCEE
2022Hongli ZhuMIE
2021Carol LivermoreMIE
2020Dionisio BernalCEE
2020Hanumant SinghECE
2019Milica StojanovicECE
2018Tommaso MelodiaECE
2017Rebecca CarrierChE
2017Marilyn MinusMIE
2016Jennifer DyECE
2016Yun Raymond FuECE
2015Mark NiedreECE
2014Deniz ErdogmusECE
2014Ming WangCEE
2013Sinan MuftuMIE
2012Nian SunECE
2012Ashkan VaziriMIE
2011James BenneyanMIE
2011April GuCEE
2009David KaeliECE
2009Shashi MurthyChE
2008Jeffrey RubertiMIE
2008Carmine VittoriaECE
2007Vincent HarrisECE
2007Constantinos MavroidisMIE
2006Dana BrooksECE
2006Ahmed BusnainaMIE
2005Teiichi AndoMIE
2005Nicol McGruerECE
2004Akram AlshawabkehCEE
2004Fabrizio LombardiECE
2003No Awardees This Year
2002George AdamsMIE
2002Eric MillerECE
2001Yiannis LevendisMIE
2001Albert Sacco, Jr.ChE
2001Aleksandar StankovicECE
2000Surendra GuptaMIE
2000Carey RappaportECE
1999Joseph BlucherMIE
1999Søren BuusECE
1998Chung ChanECE
1998Alexander GorlovMIE