GEM Award – Going the Extra Mile Award

The Award recognizes and rewards outstanding service by administrative, support, and technical staff employees in the College of Engineering.


  • All staff who do not hold faculty status and who work at least two-thirds time are eligible.
  • Past recipients are not eligible for a period of five years after receiving the award.


All candidates must have:
  • Performed above and beyond normal expectations
  • Gone above and beyond their regular assignment in specific and recognizable ways
  • Volunteered to take on responsibilities not specifically required by their supervisor and take those on with a positive and willing spirit
  • Demonstrated leadership or an ability to motivate others in pursuit of excellence
  • Considered situations and problems from novel and diverse perspectives; addressed challenges in an innovative manner
  • Questioned existing assumptions and beliefs; encouraged people to think of alternative ways of doing things
  • Considered constraints that limited innovation; worked within constraints to create novel approaches; found ways to make the most out of existing resources; swiftly moved from ideas to implementation

Candidates should have performed in a manner that substantially exceeds the normal expectation for a staff member.



The Staff Initiative Committee will select award recipients.

Nomination Process

Nominations may be initiated by College of Engineering staff, faculty, and/or administrators.  Each nominator, however, may nominate only one employee for this award each year. Once the nomination process has concluded, the respective department chair for each faculty nominee or manager for each staff nominee will be contacted to complete a Recommendation Form before all materials are sent to the appropriate Awards Committee for evaluation.

The nomination packet should consist of ONE pdf file submitted through the Staff Nomination Form (multiple submissions for the same nomination will not be accepted) containing the following:

  • one letter of nomination including the names of the nominator(s) and the nominee which should include the rationale for the nomination and pertinent accomplishments; the letter will be preferably one page and a maximum of two pages in length;
  • a maximum of three letters of support from current or former students and/or College/University colleagues.

If you have any questions, please email

Past Recipients

2024Esther CohenBioE
2024Robert EaganChemE
2024Krystal RistainoUGSS
2023Tiffany LamCenSSIS
2023Gina O’Brien-McLellandDean’s Office
2022Elizabeth CreamerAcademic Advising
2022David LouisComputer Center
2022Krista RobinetteChE
2021Edward KellyECE
2021Lisa LehaneARC
2021Sarah Batista-PereiraDevelopment
2020Thomas SimersMIE Co-op
2020Eddie TyranceECE
2019Jacqueline JosselynECE Co-op
2019Juan Carlos HincapieARC
2018Eve YoungAcademic Advising
2017Margaret GrimesMIE Co-op
2016Melanie SmithGordon-CenSSIS
2015Robert EaganChE
2014Andrew LawrenceARC