Related News for Gunar Schirner

Faculty and Staff Awards 2020

Congratulations to all the winners of the faculty and staff awards, and to everyone for their hard work and dedication during the 2019-2020 academic school year.

ECE PhDs Win Best Student Paper Award at PETRA 2019

ECE PhD students Mo Han, PhD’22, Yagmur Gunay, PhD’21, and Ilkay Yildiz, PhD’22, received the best student paper award at PETRA 2019, which took place in Rhodes, Greece, for their paper “From Hand-perspective Visual Information to Grasp Type Probabilities: Deep Learning via Ranking Labels”.

Eckelman & Schirner to Represent NU at NAE

ECE Assistant Professor Matthew Eckelman and Associate Professor Gunar Schirner have been selected to represent Northeastern University at National Academy of Engineering's seventh Frontiers of Engineering Education (FOEE) symposium. The attendees were nominated by NAE members or deans and chosen from a highly competitive pool of applicants.

CEE PhD student David Vines-Cavanaugh wins Young Researcher Award

CEE PhD student David Vines-Cavanaugh won first place for the Young Researcher Award at the International Symposium on Non-Destructive Testing in Civil Engineering (NDT-CE 2015).

Neural Controlled Prosthetics

ECE Associate Professors Denis Erdogmus, Gunar Schirner, & Taskin Padir awarded $603K NSF grant to develop a Hand Augmentation using Nested Decision (HAND) for those with lost limb function.

Monitoring Marine Mammal with POAWRS

ECE Associate Professors Purnima Makris and Gunar Schirner were awarded a $300K NSF grant for the "Development of an interim passive ocean acoustic waveguide remote sensing system for instantaneous continental-shelf scale marine mammal monitoring, localization and species classification".

Optimized Computing Space

Electrical and Computer Engineering Assistant Professor Gunar Schirner and Professor David Kaeli were awarded a $450K National Science Foundation (NSF) grant to develop "Power Efficient Emerging Heterogeneous Platforms."  The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 "to promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and […]