Related News for Marvin Onabajo

Young Scholars Program for Local High School Students Finishes Strong

High school seniors engage in diverse engineering research during Northeastern’s Young Scholars Program, mentored by COE faculty and students.

Marvin Onabajo, Miriam Leeser, Cristian Cassella

Designing Self-Adaptive Next Generation RF Receivers for Heavily Crowded Electromagnetic Environments

ECE Associate Professor Marvin Onabajo, Professor Miriam Leeser, and Assistant Professor Cristian Cassella were awarded a $750K NSF grant for “Advancing Coexistence through a Cross-Layer Design Platform with an Adaptive Frequency-Selective Radio Front-End and Digital Algorithms.” The research lays the groundwork for enhanced radio frequency communication systems that make use of real-time tuning to adapt to different spectrum environments for higher interference tolerance, and to provide design techniques and tools that improve the coexistence of wireless devices.

Rethinking Radio Frequency Integrated Circuits Optimization for the Internet of Things

ECE Assistant Professor Francesco Restuccia and Associate Professor Marvin Onabajo were awarded a $600K NSF grant for “Self-Adaptive Interference-Avoiding Wireless Receiver Hardware through Real-Time Learning-Based Automatic Optimization of Power-Efficient Integrated Circuits.”

Marvin Onabajo, Yunsi Fei, Aatmesh Shrivastava, and Francesco Restuccia.

$1 Million NSF Award as Part of Resilient and Intelligent Next-Generation Systems Program for Spectrum-Agile IoT Networks

ECE Associate Professor Marvin Onabajo, Professor Yunsi Fei, Assistant Professor Aatmesh Shrivastava, and Assistant Professor Francesco Restuccia were awarded a $1M NSF grant for “RINGS: Internet of Things Resilience through Spectrum-Agile Circuits, Learning-Based Communications and Thermal Hardware Security.”

Faculty and Staff Awards 2022

Congratulations to all the winners of the faculty and staff awards, and to everyone for their hard work and dedication during the 2021-2022 academic school year.

graphic of technology

Subharmonic Tag for Wireless Sensing

ECE PhD student Hussein Hussein, Professor Matteo Rinaldi, Associate Professor Marvin Onabajo, and Assistant Professor Cristian Cassella had their research on “A chip-less and battery-less subharmonic tag for wireless sensing with parametrically enhanced sensitivity and dynamic range” published in Scientific Reports from the Nature group.

Marvin Onabajo

Onabajo Awarded Patent for FSK Wireless Transmitters

ECE Associate Professor Marvin Onabajo was awarded a patent for “Low-power frequency-shift keying (FSK) wireless transmitters.”

Portraits of Cassella, Onabajo, and Rinaldi

Cassella Receives NSF Award to Enable Longer Battery Lifetime and Next-Generation Micro- and Nano-Sensors

ECE Assistant Professor Cristian Cassella (PI), Associate Professor Marvin Onabajo, and  Associate Professor Matteo Rinaldi received a $437K NSF award from the CCSS-Comms Circuits & Sens Sys program for “Fully Integrated Parametric Filters for Extensive Phase-Noise Reduction in Low-Power RF Front-Ends and Resonant Sensing Platforms.” The research program aims to exploit, for the first time, […]

$1.34M NIH Grant for Wireless Microscale Neuronal Recording and Stimulation System

ECE Professor Nian Sun, Associate Professor Marvin Onabajo and Assistant Professor Aatmesh Shrivastava were awarded a $1.34M NIH collaborative grant with Massachusetts General Hospital to work on nano-scale neural radio frequency identification (NanoNeuroRFID) devices for wireless neural magnetic modulation and recording.

Detecting Trojan Circuits with On-Chip Temperature Sensors

ECE Associate Professor Marvin Onabajo and Professor Yong-Bin Kim were awarded a patent for creating a "method to use on-chip temperature sensors for detection of Trojan circuits". Abstract Source: USPTO A method for detecting a malicious circuit on an integrated circuit chip is provided, in which temperature sensors are thermally coupled to primary circuitry on […]

Improving the Acquisition of EEG Signals

ECE Assistant Professor Aatmesh Shrivastava & Associate Professor Marvin Onabajo were awarded a $500K NSF grant to develop an analog computing based feature extraction system-on-a-chip with dry skin-electrode contact interface circuits for wireless EEG sensing.

Detecting Hardware Sabotage

ECE Assistant Professor Marvin Onabajo is using his Army Research Office Young Investigator award to detect if electronic chips have been embedded with malicious Trojans.

Onabajo Awarded Patent

ECE Assistant Professor Marvin Onabajo was awarded a patent for “Instrumentation amplifier with digitally programmable input capacitance cancellation”. Abstract Source: USPTO An instrumentation amplifier that includes input capacitance cancellation is provided. The architecture includes programmable capacitors between the input stage and a current feedback loop of the instrumentation amplifier to cancel input capacitances from electrode […]

Onabajo is the recipient of an ARO Young Investigator Program Award

Assistant Professor Marvin Onabajo, electrical and computer engineering, has received a $205,000 Young Investigator Award from the Army Research Office (ARO). The grant supports Onabajo’s efforts to develop security solutions for the global semiconductor industry — specifically, an on-chip thermal sensing system that detects hardware hacking attempts. “There is an increasing risk of harmful modifications that can […]

Young Scholar Program Provides Experience-Based Learning for Future Scientists and Engineers

The Center for STEM Education kicked off its 2017 Young Scholars Program on June 26, 2017, with 26 budding scientists and engineers from high schools at a variety of cities and towns in the Greater Boston area.

Research Fair a Big Success

The COE Undergraduate Research Lab fair gathered hundreds of students eager to learn about the research opportunities available to them.

COE Faculty and Staff Award Winners

Congratulations to the 2015 winners of the COE Faculty and Staff Awards: Outstanding Teachers of First Year Engineering Students Thomas Gilbert, Chemistry Joshua Hertz, Engineering Marco Rainho, Mathematics Swastik Kar, Physics Martin W. Essigmann Outstanding Teaching Award Marvin Onabajo, ECE Outstanding Cooperative Education Coordinator Award Alison Nogueira, MIE Outstanding Staff Award Roy Dalsheim, Student Services Susan […]

COE Faculty & Staff Award Winners

Congratulations to the 2015 winners of the COE Faculty and Staff Awards.

Onabajo receives $500K NSF CAREER Award

Electrical and Computer Engineering Assistant Professor Marvin Onabajo was awarded a $500K CAREER grant from the National Science Foundation to investigate "Low-Power Transceiver Design Methods for Wireless Medical Monitoring".

Onabajo Wins NSF Grant

ECE Assistant Professor Marvin Onabajo was awarded a $200K National Science Foundation EAGER grant to create a "Integrated Self-Calibrated Analog Front-End for Biopotential and Bioimpedance Measurements".  The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 "to promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare; to […]