Celebrating Bioengineering at Northeastern: Visions for the Future

The Department of Bioengineering hosted a 10-year anniversary celebration to celebrate its decade of achievements and showcase its future plans. View recap video.

The College of Engineering’s Department of Bioengineering celebrated its 10th anniversary Jan. 12 with a full day of events. The celebration began in Raytheon Ampitheater, where most of the day’s events took place. Lee Makowski, founding chair and professor of bioengineering, gave opening remarks about the history of the department, its accomplishments in the past 10 years and what it will strive to accomplish in the future. At the end of his remarks, Makowski was gifted a “chair’s chair” with his name and title on it to thank him for his time with the department.

Makowski’s remarks were followed by research presentations from Professor Ning Wang, Assistant Professor Mona Minkara and PhD Candidates Ana Vargas, Caroline McCormick, Joshua Pace and Noam Grunfeld.

After a lunch break at EXP, the afternoon commenced with the Vision of the Department and Bioengineering Field presentation, featuring remarks from Dean Gregory Abowd, Makowski and Abraham Joy, incoming chair and professor of bioengineering. During these remarks, Abowd, Makowski and Joy each gave insight into how Northeastern’s vision of the bioengineering department would continue to evolve and be fulfilled through research and curricula developments.

A poster session with current bioengineering PhD students followed these remarks. During the poster session, students had the chance to present their bioengineering projects, which showed the culmination of their research and data collection.

Attendees also had the opportunity to go on lab tours at the Interdisciplinary Science and Engineering Complex, or ISEC, before returning to Raytheon Ampitheater for a bioengineering alumni panel. Alumni on the panel included Jessica McLaughlin, PhD; Samantha Johnson, MS; Kritika Singh, BS; and David Walsh, PhD. During this time, current bioengineering students asked the panelists questions about their experiences with the bioengineering department, their studies and their work post-graduation.

After the alumni panel, department history reflections were held in the ISEC auditorium, including Makowski’s final remarks. Professor Jeffrey Ruberti, original co-op coordinator Karen Kelley, Associate Teaching Professor Michael Jaeggli, Associate Dean of Space Sandra Shefelbine and Associate Dean of PhD Education Mark Niedre also spoke. The day’s events then closed with dinner and a reception in ISEC.


Related Faculty: Lee Makowski, Gregory D. Abowd, Abraham Joy, Ming L. Wang, Mona Minkara, Jeffrey W. Ruberti, Michael Jaeggli, Sandra Shefelbine, Mark Niedre

Related Departments:Bioengineering