FY21 TIER 1 Award Recipients

Congratulations to the 19 COE faculty and affiliates who were recipients of FY21 TIER 1 Interdisciplinary Research Seed Grants for 13 different projects.

  1. Modulation of Organismic Resilience by the Microbiome
    Javier Apfeld (Biology), Erel Levine (Bioengineering)
  2. Mentored Award: Novel methods to quantify the affective impact of virtual reality for motor skill learning
    Danielle Levac (Physical Therapy), Karen Quigley (Psychology), Lisa Barrett (Psychology), Sarah Ostadabbas (Electrical and Computer Engineering)
  3. Understanding the therapeutic modulation of the cancer cell responses to microbial-based cancer therapies via single cell lab on a chip approach.
    Tania Konry (Pharmaceutical Sciences), Jiahe Li (Bioengineering)
  4. Quantum Machine Learning
    Pau Closas (Electrical and Computer Engineering), Adrian Feiguin (Physics)
  5. Microfluidic Droplet-Based Screening for the Directed Evolution of Materials
    Neel Joshi (Chemistry), Sara Hashmi (Chemical Engineering)
  6. Mentored Award: Understanding Compliance with AI Advise for the Design of Better Human-Machine Hybrids
    Yael Karlinsky Shichor (Marketing), Casper Harteveld (Art+Design)
  7. Towards a digital biomarker of cognitive health – unobtrusive and continuous monitoring of cognitive changes using smartphone data
    Sumientra Rampersad (Electrical and Computer Engineering), Misha Pavel (Computer Science/Health Sciences)
  8. Community Resilience in Extreme Temperatures: Solutions for citizens, government, and utilities through big data and community engagement
    Michael Kane (Civil and Environmental Engineering), David Fannon (Architecture/Civil and Environmental Engineering), Michelle Laboy (Architecture)
  9. Chemical tools to ​track RNA in living cells and organisms
    Sara Rouhanifard (Bioengineering), James Monaghan (Biology)
  10. Enabling Secure Localization for Autonomous Cyber-physical Systems
    Aanjhan Ranganathan (Computer Science), Pau Closas (Electrical and Computer Engineering)
  11. Optimizing Criminal Justice Responses to the Business of Labor Trafficking
    Shawn Bhimani (Supply Chain and Information Management), Amy Farrell (Criminology and Criminal Justice), Kayse Maass (Mechanical and Industrial Engineering)
  12. Mentored Award: Industrial AI-Assisted Synthesis of 2D Quantum Materials
    Xiaoning Jin (Mechanical and Industrial Engineering), Swastik Kar (Physics)
  13. Physical Mechanisms of Collective Epithelial Motility
    Max Bi (Physics), Herbert Levine (Bioengineering/Physics)

Related Faculty: Javier Apfeld, Erel Levine, Sarah Ostadabbas, Tali Konry, Neel Joshi, Sara M. Hashmi, Casper Harteveld, Misha Pavel, Michael Kane, David Fannon, Michelle Laboy, Sara Rouhanifard, Kayse Lee Maass, Xiaoning “Sarah” Jin, Swastik Kar, Herbert Levine, Pau Closas

Related Departments:Bioengineering, Chemical Engineering, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Electrical & Computer Engineering, Mechanical & Industrial Engineering